Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

FLASHForward: Plasma wakefield accelerator science for high average power applications

Sep 17, 2019, 7:00 PM
SML (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - Plasma acceleration physics II and high rep rates


Richard D'Arcy (DESY)


FLASHForward is a beam-driven plasma-wakefield research facility at DESY (Hamburg, Germany), aiming at the stable generation and acceleration of electron beams of several GeV with small energy spread and emittance. High-quality GeV-, nC-class electron beams from the free-electron laser FLASH will act as the wake driver. The experimental setup will allow for studies of external injection as well as density-downramp-assisted internal injection. First experimentation at the FLASHForward facility began in earnest in the summer of 2018 with first results published earlier this year. Over the course of the last year many exciting experimental studies have been performed, aided by the exquisite stability, feedback, and repetition rate of the FLASH machine. This contribution will outline progress made at the FLASHForward facility during this time as well as an outlook to the unique high average-power functionality planned for the future.

Primary authors

Richard D'Arcy (DESY) James Chappell (University College London)


Alexander Aschikhin (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Simon Bohlen (DESY - FLA) Gregory Boyle (DESY) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Mr Maik Dinter (DESY) Ms Theresa Brümmer (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Severin Diederichs (University of Hamburg/DESY/LBNL) Brian Foster (University of Hamburg/DESY/Oxford) Jimmy Garland (DESY, Hamburg) Lars Goldberg (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Pau Gonzalez Caminal (DESY, Universität Hamburg) Mr Sven Karstensen (DESY) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Peng Kuang (DESY) Vladyslav Libov (DESY) Carl A. Lindstrøm (DESY) Mr Kai Ludwig (DESY) A. Martinez de la Ossa (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Frank Marutzky (DESY) Mr Martin Meisel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Timon Mehrling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Pardis Niknejadi (DESY) Kristjan Poder (DESY) Mr Amir Rahali (DESY) Jan-Hendrik Roeckemann (DESY) Lucas Schaper (University Hamburg / DESY) Mr Andrej Schleiermacher (DESY) Bernhard Schmidt (DESY) Sarah Schroeder (DESY) Jan-Patrick Schwinkendorf (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Bridget Sheeran (DESY) Gabriele Tauscher (DESY) Mrs Sandra Thiele (DESY) Stephan Wesch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Matthew Wing (UCL) Ming Zeng (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Jens Osterhoff (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Joern Schaffrran

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.