Silver Moon: the first and the next 25 years of Nuclear Astrophysics at Gran Sasso

E. Majorana lecture hall (LNGS)

E. Majorana lecture hall


Via Giovanni Acitelli 22, 67100 Assergi (Italy)
Paolo Prati (Genova University & INFN)


Underground nuclear astrophysics was born twenty five years ago in the core of Gran Sasso, when LUNA (Laboratory for Underground Nuclear Astrophysics) started its activity with a 50kV accelerator,  implementing the visionary idea of Enrico Bellotti, Gianni Fiorentini and Claus Rolfs.

As a matter of fact, the extremely low laboratory background has allowed for the first time the realization of nuclear physics experiments with very small count rates, down to a couple of events per month. This way, the important reactions responsible for the hydrogen burning in the Sun could be studied down to the relevant stellar energies.

In addition to the solar phase of LUNA, a rich program lasting for several years and devoted to the study of the Big Bang nucleosynthesis and of the nucleosynthesis of the elements through the CNO, Mg-Al and Ne-Na cycles in different stars could be developed.

Today, after the first 25 years of LUNA, a new phase has started with the ambitious LUNA-MV project: a  3.5 MV accelerator is going to be installed in the Hall B of the underground laboratory.  Presently the LUNA collaboration consists of about 40 researchers belonging to Bari, Genova, Milano, Napoli, Padova and Torino Universities/INFN (Italy); LNGS and Roma1 INFN (Italy); GSSI (Italy); Edinburgh University (UK), HZDR Dresden (Germany) and MTA Atomki (Hungary). This workshop aims  to introduce the new facility and its scientific program to the international community looking for new collaborations.


P. Prati (Genova University and INFN GE) - Chair
C. Broggini (INFN PD)
A. Formicola (INFN LNGS)

G. Gervino (Torino University and INFN TO)
A. Guglielmetti (Milano University and INFN MI)
C. Gustavino (INFN Roma)
G. Imbriani (Napoli University and INFN NA)
V. Paticchio (INFN BA)
M. Aliotta (Edinburgh University UK)
D. Bemmerer (HZDR Dresden, Germany)
Zs. Fulop (MTA Atomki, Debrecen, Hungary)



R. Antolini (INFN-LNGS)
F. Cavanna (INFN-GE)
A. Caciolli (INFN-PD)
G. Ciani (GSSI)
R. Depalo (Padova University and INFN-PD)
I. Kochanek (INFN-LNGS)
D. Trezzi (Milano University and INFN-MI)
F. Chiarizia (INFN-LNGS,secretary)

  • Alessandra Guglielmetti
  • Andreas Best
  • Antonio Caciolli
  • Axel Boeltzig
  • Carlo Broggini
  • carlo gustavino
  • Carolyn Doherty
  • Chiara Mazzocchi
  • Ciro Marino
  • Daniel Bemmerer
  • Davide Trezzi
  • Endre Somorjai
  • Francesca Cavanna
  • Francesca Matteucci
  • Francesca Romana Pantaleo
  • Frank Strieder
  • Gang Lian
  • Gianluca Imbriani
  • Gianpiero Gervino
  • Giovanni Francesco Ciani
  • Hanns-Peter Trautvetter
  • Izabela Kochanek
  • Jeremias Garcia Duarte
  • Klaus Stoeckel
  • Luis Mario Fraile
  • László Csedreki
  • Maria Lugaro
  • Marialuisa Aliotta
  • Matthias Bernhard Junker
  • Michael Wiescher
  • Oscar Straniero
  • Oscar Trippella
  • Pareshkumar Prajapati
  • Richard deBoer
  • Roberto Menegazzo
  • Rosanna Depalo
  • Sandra Zavatarelli
  • Sara Palmerini
  • ShengQuan Yan
  • Viviana Mossa
  • Zenon Janas
  • Zsolt Fulop
The agenda of this meeting is empty