Membership Committee report

Christopher Hearty

U. British Columbia / IPP

20-Sep-2012

Committee

- Christopher Hearty University of British Columbia (chair)
- Nicolas Arnaud LAL Orsay
- Lucia Lilli INFN Pisa
- Stefano Longo INFN Padova
- Mauro Morandin INFN Padova

Governance

- We are in a transition phase between the proto-collaboration governance and the collaboration governance that was adopted last March.
- New groups are directly dealing with the membership committee, since we do not have a spokesperson.
- Either way, the proposals of new groups are reviewed by the membership committee, which makes a recommendation to council. Council ratifies.
- You have heard presentations from two groups today.

Mexican group

- The membership committee recommends admitting five institutions:
- Universidad Autónoma de Sinaloa
 Autonomous University of Sinaloa
 School of Physics and Mathematics
 PI: Pedro Luis Manuel Podesta Lerma
- 2. Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados Center for Research and Advanced Studies, Mexico City PI: Eduard de la Cruz Burelo

- 3. Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla Distinguished Autonomous University of Puebla School of Physics and Mathematics PI: Arturo Fernandez Téllez
- Universidad de Guanajuato
 University of Guanajuato
 Department of Physics
 PI: Marco Antonio Reyes Santos
- 5. Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México National Autonomous University of Mexico Institute of Physics and Institute of Nuclear Science PI: Eleazar Cuatle Flores

Associate members

• Note that the Mexican group includes three phenomenologists. They will be admitted as Associate Members.